Jump to sitemap page |  Goto top navigation | Goto sidebar navigation | Skip to main content



Penny Rosen, AAPCSW President 2013 - 2015

Crayton Rowe conducted a survey of NYC psychoanalytic training programs in 1975. The results showed that while social workers were the highest percentage of graduates, only a small number were teaching or supervising.

In May 1980 at a meeting of the Clinical Social Work Federation, Rowe founded the National Membership Committee on Psychoanalysis in Clinical Social Work. NMCOP remained a committee within the Federation for 10 years before becoming an independent corporation in 1990. Rosemarie Gaeta negotiated independence from the Federation in 1990 and became its first president. From the beginning, the aim of NMCOP was the achievement of parity with other mental health disciplines.

In March 2007, NMCOP changed its name to the American Association for Psychoanalysis in Clinical Social Work to better reflect its standing and purpose. With members from across the country, AAPCSW has gained recognition for its educational programs, standard setting, and advocacy on behalf of clinical social workers practicing psychoanalysis or from a psychoanalytic perspective.

Learn more about Crayton Rowe »


Dates Leadership
1980 - 1990 Crayton Rowe, NMCOP Founder and Chair
1990 - 1993 Rosemarie Gaeta, NMCOP First President
1993 - 1995 Cecily Weintraub, President
1995 - 1997 Peggy Frank, President
October 1, 1997 - September 30, 1999 David Phillips, President
October 1, 1999 - September 30, 2001 William Meyer, President
October 1, 2001 - September 30, 2003 Barbara Berger, President
October 1, 2003 - September 30, 2005 Judy Kaplan, President
October 1, 2005 - September 30, 2007 Marsha Wineburgh, President
October 1, 2007- September 30, 2009 Samoan Barish, President
October 1, 2009 - September 30, 2011 Cathy Siebold, President
October 1, 2011 - September 30, 2013 Karen Baker, President
October 1, 2013 - September 30, 2015 Penny Rosen, President
October 1, 2015 - July 12, 2016 Judith Aronson, President
July 12, 2016 - August 15, 2016 Jerry Floersch and Jeffrey Longhofer, Co-Presidents
August 15, 2016 - September 30, 2017 Penny Rosen, Acting President
October 1, 2017 - September 30, 2019 Jerry Floersch and Jeffrey Longhofer, Co-Presidents
October 1, 2019 - September 30, 2021 Dan Buccino and Teresa Méndez, Co-Presidents

Historical Highlights

Date Event
1980 Committee is founded within the Clinical Social Work Federation by Crayton Rowe.
1990 Independence of the NMCOP from the Clinical Social Work Federation was negotiated by Rosemarie Gaeta, who became its First President.
October 9, 1992 NMCOP was one of the Founders of the Consortium of Psychoanalytic Organizations.
March 4, 1994 Motion by Crayton Rowe to form an ad hoc committee within the Consortium of Psychoanalytic Organizations for the formation of the Accreditation Council for Psychoanalytic Education, Inc. (ACPEinc.).
1996 Published - Fostering Healing & Growth: A Psychoanalytic Social Work Approach. Editors: Joyce Edward, Jean Sanville. Jason Aronson.
1999 Published - The Social Work Psychoanalyst’s Casebook: Clinical Voices in Honor of Jean Sanville. Editors: Joyce Edward, Elaine Rose. Analytic Press.
2006 Member of the Psychodynamic Diagnostic Manual (PDM-I) Task Force, published by The Alliance of Psychoanalytic Organizations (member of the Alliance).

Contributing to a forum with the Consortium of Psychoanalytic Organizations, celebrating Freud's 150 birthday, sponsored by the Austrian Embassy in Washington, DC.
2007 Name change from NMCOP to AAPCSW.
2008 Published in collaboration with the Austrian Embassy and the Consortium – Freud at 150: 21st Century Essays on a Man of Genius. Editors: Joseph P. Merlino, Marilyn S. Jacobs, Judy Ann Kaplan, K. Lynne Moritz. A Jason Aronson Book, Rowman & Littlefield Publishers.
2009 Published - Advanced Clinical Social Work Practice: Relational Principles and Techniques. Editors: Eda Goldstein, Dennis Miehls, Shoshana Ringel. Columbia University Press.

Participated in APsaA's Teacher's Academy.
2011 Subsidized PEP-Web subscriptions to members.
2012 Co-Sponsored digitization of Psychoanalytic Social Work on PEP-Web (Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing).
2013 Published - Contemporary Clinical Practice: The Holding Environment Under Attack. Editors: Ellen Ruderman, Carol Tosone. Springer Publishing.
2015 Member of the Psychodynamic Diagnostic Manual (PDM-2) Task Force.
2017 Co-sponsoring organization of The Psychodynamic Diagnostic Manual (PDM-2)
2019 Psychoanalytic Social Work Journal is now an official journal of AAPCSW, as of Volume 26, #1 January-June 2019.